Mind track

11 Jul

I got a note from my 8-yr old son’s Hindi teacher yesterday, saying that he was singing during the lessons and had disturbed the class. My son is usually a well-behaved child – sometimes so well-behaved that I worry if he will ever have any fun or grow up to regret not having been naughty! And then there are times like this….

I asked him why he did that and he told me that he just couldn’t get this song off his mind and did not realize that he was humming it and did not intend to disturb the class. We are not native Hindi speakers and having had had no exposure to that language till he turned 7, my son finds it difficult to follow the lessons sometimes. So I wanted to give him the benefit-of-doubt that his mind wandered during the class. After giving him a stern talk-to about how learning anything will only make him smarter and how he should never ever disturb others even if he cannot follow what the teacher is saying, I asked him what he was singing. It was this silly song from ‘The Diary of the Wimpy Kid‘, he said.

And now I have been infected! I have a tendency to have a soundtrack running in my head all the time, be it a song or music or even prose – my mind has an audio and video track. I marvel at what the human brain is capable of – chopping broccoli and my brain is singing a salsa song! Just imagine what this seemingly simple task involves – your eye co-ordinating with your hand so that you do not chop off your finger by mistake and in addition, your brain is screening your last Zumba lesson complete with the Salsa track plus all the involuntary things going on – breathing, heart-pumping etc. Amazing! And then you have this ear worm phenomenon where a song repeats in your head like a broken record!

How to get rid of this? My husband’s strategy is called the ‘counter song’. He says if a song gets stuck in your head, all you have to do is, listen to another song – the “counter song” – till you get rid of the previous one. The danger is, you might get stuck with the counter song but at least it will be a song of your choice and not chance.

I am not sure if listening to ‘Greensleeves’ (The King’s Singers version), is going to save me from the Wimpy kid, but let us hope so. Otherwise, I cannot in good conscience discipline my son and let him in on the secret of the ‘counter song’, can I?

-Inspired by the Daily Prompt: Earworm

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/10/daily-prompt-inspiration/

5 Responses to “Mind track”

  1. Preeti July 11, 2013 at 6:37 am #

    🙂 counter song really ! funny 🙂 and teacher sending note for some small misdemeanor is the new age thing ! We never had teacher sending notes , they just told us off and then it was all forgotten!

  2. karma2000 July 11, 2013 at 7:03 am #

    True. I have till date received two such notes and both were for some such ‘incident’- son was more interested in dancing instead of playing table tennis (they take place in a big hall adjacent to each other) and this one from his hindi teacher. I should just count my blessings that it was not R breaking a window with a brick or something! 😀

  3. drshyamalavatsa July 11, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

    Agree with Preeti, surely teachers can handle these little things that kids do?
    You know, I read Mind Track, and then Babelfish; my mind is now trying out “aaraaro” in different tunes! In Konkani we have “Jaay, jaay,jaay” (rhymes with English ‘Aye’) to convey what ‘aaraaro’ does!

  4. chickpiggy July 11, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

    Oh, we had a diary and the teacher could write remarks in it. It also used to have the photograph of the student on the front page. One day one of my friends decided to have fun and gave me a black eye on the photo unfortunately the same day I got a remark for talking during class and another one for the black eye!

  5. Andreas July 12, 2013 at 1:19 am #

    Almost blasphemous to chop broccoli without the proper soundtrack.

    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=TRW27fyvwCs

    Mexican cooking with Salsa? Ok. Broccoli without “Chopping Broccoli” Not Ok!

    My countersong btw: Creeping Death by Metallica, trusted helper in need for more than 20 years! (it’s important to have a fixed and reliable countersong and not start thinking about it when it’s too late… 🙂 )

    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=hK8drxY6_5c

Leave a Reply

