Reunion Recap

23 Jul

My most favourite reunion movie ever is ‘Gross Pointe Blank’.

Marcella: You know, when you started getting invited to your ten year high school reunion, time is catching up.
Martin Q. Blank: Are you talking about a sense of my own mortality or a fear of death?
Marcella: Well, I never really thought about it quite like that.

A friend of mine came down to India from United States. She called me and said let us meet up. She was in a different state but we are all so excited we did not think too much about the logistics of 1000Km. We can make it this time. The flurry of phone calls started! Since most of our friends are in Mumbai, we decided to meet in Mumbai and a date was set.  It was going to our informal college reunion.

We have not seen each other in more than 10 years, some I last saw 15 years ago on convocation day on a blistering sunny afternoon in June 1998. That day, some of us were off to the States for Masters, some of us off to MBAs and some of us off to figure out what we are going to do (you can imagine which one I was – the no-plan and have to take summer classes vagabond). Although we had been in touch electronically, this would be a face-to-face in a very long time. Tickets were bought, emails were sent back and forth with increasing amount of excitement, bags were packed and phone numbers exchanged.

The day dawned. I left my kids with my husband and boarded the plane in a daze. For the first time in 5 years, I am travelling alone without my kids and with just a cabin luggage – it was disorienting!I reached Mumbai and there they were – standing at the Arrivals, looking exactly like they did 15 years ago! Till that moment, I was wondering if these girls were all part of my imagination or did I really have a life before I got married and had kids!

Then we started chatting. We went nuclear! If you could convert the energy we put into talking into electricity, you could have powered a medium-sized city for a week. We had the grand idea of calling up some of our friends in the United States/India via Facetime and took pictures with those who couldn’t make it via the internet.

Leave a Reply

