Hit or Miss (America)

18 Sep

I know a lot has been written about the Miss America pageant already and I have probably missed the boat (sorry, I have been busy living my life) but better late than never, right?  So here goes – my rantings on this subject for your personal pleasure!

My question for all americans that made sarcastic tweets about immigrants – I paraphrase Chris Rock’s question from Lethal Weapon 4

“Your ancestors were native americans, were they?”

And now, for my most important question, to the Indians and Indian newspapers who oh-so with righteous wrath poured acid remarks on Americans:

“do you seriously believe that Ms. Davuluri would have won Miss India?!?”

Take a moment read your advertisements and your classifieds. Do you see the ads for the fairness creams? Do you see the matrimonial column about ‘fair brides’? Now, read my question again and tell me – would this beautiful, intelligent woman have won in our ‘fair’ country? The americans gave her a crown (not to mention the confidence to even apply for a beauty pageant) – so let us not get holier-than-thou here! Also you cannot claim credit for every person of Indian origin winning something somwhere in the world, quit being voyeurs!

The tweets about Miss America being a terrorist or an Arab, I am assuming, those were jokes – in bad taste perhaps, but must be jokes. Because no one who has a smartphone could be that dumb. So they must have been trying to be funny! I know it is not easy to be funny, it is a hit or miss thing. So, let me give you some unasked for critique about these joke about Miss America – a definite miss. Sorry. Go back to your storyboards and try harder next time and get your facts straight.

What is definitely not in good form, is pulling the 9/11 card. Please, stop doing that! Even though I did not lose any one close to me in that horror and I am not even an american, but to use 9/11 to make a worthless point? That is beneath you! Honour the memory of  those people who were innocent victims of a terror act and those brave men and women who gave their life in trying to save someone else’s. Do not blasphemy!

Having thus ranted enough, I would also like to take this opportunity to thank all the media involved for blowing this scandal up so big that it reached me, it has helped me break my bloggers-block- I am available for any surplus Pulitzers lying around.

Thank you and Goodnight/Good morning/afternoon/evening! Stay safe!

4 Responses to “Hit or Miss (America)”

  1. Jeanne In Utila September 20, 2013 at 12:10 am #

    I’m glad you took the time to write a rant. I’ve read several and yours had the one-two-punch in the nose!

    • karma2000 September 20, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

      Thank you for taking the time to comment! I get riled when people get holier-than-thou, be it my countrymen or others.
      I like to make my rant count – one-two, as you say 😀

  2. T. Anthony-Horton September 27, 2013 at 5:08 am #

    A very enjoyable read (once again)! 🙂

    • karma2000 September 27, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

      Thank you! Please keep visiting and commenting. Keeps me motivated to write and share.

Leave a Reply

